Twitter User GalleriesUser galleries on Twitter aggregate the images you’ve uploaded in your Tweets into an organized page where you can view all of your most recent images. The images included in user galleries can come from Twitter, yFrog, TwitPic, Instagram and other image sharing services supported in Twitter’s details pane.
Technical Limitations of User Galleries:
- User galleries will display up to 100 most recent images in your Tweets, in chronological order.
- Video thumbnails will not be included. Tweets with video links will not be included in user galleries.
- Images in Tweets will not be displayed if the Tweet was sent before January 1, 2010.
This is how your profile page will now appear, and you won’t see more pictures until you click view all, and then it looks like the screenshot above.
Fantastic right? ….. Maybe not so great, people have started to see the new Twitter user gallery on their profiles today and are asking how to remove it. They don’t like their photos being on their profile page. Another problem that I have just discovered is that if you manually retweet or click on a tweetthis link so that the tweet appears in your feed as a Via; that photo appears in your gallery as recent photos and its not even your photo.
As usual with new features on social networks such as Twitter or Facebook you are immediately opted in, whether or not you want the new feature. From what I’ve seen, users just want the choice, it might not be that they do not like the feature but they would like to chose if they want their photos displayed permanently or not.
The only options in settings are…
Also on the Twitter help page on All about user galleries it just refers to removing one photo by deleting the tweet, this could be tedious if you wish to remove them all.
So, as to how do I remove Twitter photo gallery from my profile it seems that as yet we cannot. Perhaps as User Galleries have only just launched it could be that Twitter will allow the option to remove or disable photo galleries for those that don’t wish to have this option. I do hope so.
I don’t mind about the photos being on my profile, I put them on Twitter to share with everyone anyway – well apart from one picture that I posted to one person directly but even so sending a photo to Twitter can be seen by anyone. However I do not like being opted in to all changes especially when it comes to privacy.
Hope this helps, I will update if there is a way to stop pictures from appearing on your profile.