Ways to edit your Facebook settings.
I was prompted to write this post after hearing a few scary stories, one about some teachers that were having an evening out (an event) which lots of ex-students arrived at for a joke as they had seen it advertised on Facebook, and a pretty bad story involving a teenager that I know, who was lucky someone helped them change their settings soon enough.
I still just don’t get it that people don’t use the Facebook settings to their full advantage. Either they just don’t know about these settings, they don’t know who can see what they are doing or they just don’t get it.
A warning notice went out this week to employees using Facebook and people started asking me how to change the settings. So I thought I’d write some easy instructions for friends and colleagues and anyone else that might need some help. I will try to do it as simply as I can, not saying my friends are simple by the way, but put it this way some of them have only just discovered facebook. 🙂
Step 1 – Create Friend Lists
Sort your friends into lists, (groups) don’t worry they won’t even know that you are doing this.
For example, if you’re a teacher, you can create a Friend List called “students” and adjust your privacy settings to control what people in that list see. Personally I wouldn’t feel comfortable with students on my Facebook anyway but some people are, obviously. You then could allow students to see basic information about you, and any other information that you find appropriate, but not photos in which you’ve been tagged. You just never know what people will tag you in; it might not even be you.
You can create whatever lists you want – family, friends, colleagues, kids – you can even add each friend to more than one Friend List.
Another brilliant reason for this is, if you want your friends that you were out with last night to see the photos you took but you don’t want people at work or kids to see them, then you can just allow that list of friends to view.
You can create your Friend List by going to the Friends area on your Facebook.
Go to friends – all friends – create list, name it, then click the people that you want in that list; you can always change it later.
Once you’ve created your Friend lists, you can use them to customise privacy levels for different information and content you include on your Profile.
1- Click Settings
2- Privacy – Manage
One of the most important things here, I think, is who can see your photos or photos tagged of you – also you will see a small subsection too – Edit Photo album privacy settings – here you can alter visibility of albums individually.
Then go back to Privacy and change how people see your News Feed and Wall – Finally in the section on the Applications page you can use the controls on this page to limit what types of information your friends can see about you through applications. Please note that this is only for applications you do not use yourself:
It might sound complicated but once it’s done, its done and when you accept new friends you just assign them a list when you accept them.
Step 2 – Change Facebook search results
You can completely customise this to however you wish – You can even completely remove yourself– so that no one can find you, unless you want them too.
2- Privacy Manage
To be invisible change this to only friends. Obviously you won’t want to do this if you want everyone and anyone to find you to gain as many friends as you can but the option is there.
If you don’t change it to only friends you need to know that by default, Facebook makes your presence visible to the network you are in. For instance if you are in the London network everyone in that network can see your information – on this settings page you can also alter what information that they can see.
And also if you don’t change this setting to only friends – you are possibly visible on Google – to alter this you need to change the Pubic Search Listing by unchecking the box that says create a public search listing for me.
Step 3 – Block People
1 – Settings
2 – Privacy Manage
Type in the name – or the email address
If you block someone, they will not be able to find you in a Facebook search, see your Profile or interact with you through Facebook channels (such as Wall posts, Poke, etc.). Any Facebook ties you currently have with a person you block will be broken (for example, friendship connections, Relationship Status, etc.). Note that blocking someone may not prevent all communications and interactions in third party applications, and does not extend to elsewhere on the Internet
I think that is enough to begin with, there are many more other settings that you can change, and once you have done this, you can have a look around these pages and see what else you can do.