Verify your account Facebook scam

There appear to be three very similar facebook scams going around at the moment, all with the theme of Facebook Account Verification, and if you don’t verify your accounts, something nasty is going to happen. Not that you will fall in a puddle of mud, but much worse, your facebook account will be closed.

Well, what can I say …… this isn’t true – your Facebook account is not going to be closed if you don’t verify your account, pay money or move to Scotland.  Its a scam. And its pretty   harsh one, these guys not only want you to spread it all around but they want you to allow them access to your account, to hack or steal your information.   You might see something like this

This is a request for permission, you see that at the top, by clicking that blue allow button you are allowing the things on the left, which include….

  • Access to your basic information – Name, picture, gender , networks, user ID, friends list, and any other information that is public.
  • Access to your profile information – Birthday,  hometown, City and Facebook Status.
  • Access to your photos
  • Post on your behalf – This means they can post status updates, photos or anything they like.

Always be careful when clicking that button….. regardless.

It doesn’t end there apparently, you are then taken to survey scam and we all know about survey scams. 

I believe this has all come about since Facebook said in February that they will start offering account verifications to user with a high subscriber counts.  This means celebs, and to verify your account according to Mashable you will need to send in photo ID, birth-cert and credit card. And they don’t even get a nice badge like on Twitter or Google.

Anyway so there are your hints.

  • You aren’t famous (well, mostly likely not)
  • Your Facebook account won’t be closed.
  • You have to send in ID not click an app link.

Also you usually verifiy your account when you first join up by adding a mobile number to your account, this gives you added advantages, some you will need if creating your own page. You can do it at any time though.

But Facebook will never message you about this.

See here for more information – Verifying Your Account

I hope this helps, please share this around to the younger members of your community as maybe they don’t have the advantage that we have of seeing this stuff before.

I have to say – Facebook are getting pretty good at stopping some of these hackers or scammers whatever you want to call them – one of these only started this morning and facebook has taken it down!! These others are there though and no doubt there will be more..

Take care out there.

Hope this helps

 

 

 

Whitney Houston Scams – Be careful what you click

 

Picture from http://wn.com/Best_R&B_Album

Whitney Houston Scams

As usual when someone dies, the hackers, scammers, cyber criminals use it against us. They know we are weak, they know we are not paying attention. They know we are all fighting for new information or great tracks…

  • What happened?
  • Why did it happen?
  • Is it true?
  • What is going to happen?
  • I love that song!

This is when they get us, when we are not thinking, we click a link and bam – its gone to all our friends and family saying its safe because you liked it.

There are even some going around that say they are going to show you Whitney’s autopsy really? You’d click that?  Well I know some are so distraught they just need to know the facts.

The Autopsy one doesn’t take you to a YouTube link but says that flash needs to be updated, and you have to install.

Another one, takes you to a link to download Whitney wallpaper … woah!

Big Mistake – Huge! 

You will be installing something very nasty!

Usually it will just take you to a survey site, which can be sorted out easily – but remember never ever put any information in these things. Never!

These are on Facebook and Twitter, and still going strong – although no reports on Google+ yet – hmm what does that tell you?

Remember, if in doubt, don’t click.

Hope this helps

Facebook scam video – OMG I just hate RIHANNA after watching this video

Rihanna OMG

OMG I just hate Rihanna after watching this video, has found its way to my friends facebook walls.

Scammers are using celebrities we like to get to us, this time its to watch Rihanna on youtube.   Scams are sometimes connected to celebrities because hackers know people just can’t wait to click that link without thinking, and by then its too late.

This particular scam has been around for ages now, its changed shape or form but essentially its always the same – this is what it looks like now…

As you see it tells you that you will LOST your all respect for RIHANNA after watching this, a tell-tail sign that its fake, its very bad English.

As many scams or hoaxes like this is actually a survey scam –  when you click the link it will take you to a survey – and you know the rest…. if you don’t, then read these! 🙂

 

These and many more are pretty much the same if not identical as the survey scam above, you don’t see a video at all but you are taken to a survey which if you complete the scammer gets paid for violating your page and  your friends and you get nothing.

Please try not to be fooled by these scams, I know its difficult if its something popular like this but ask yourself if the first place you would have heard about this would have been Facebook and not the news.

As precaution check your allowed applications.

Go to your Privacy Settings,  Apps and Websites – Edit Settings – Apps you use – and check which apps that you have allowed.

Also change your password.

Hope this helps

Picture Source – creative commons

Who’s viewing your Facebook Profile?

Ok, I feel the need to say this again.

Another application is claiming to be able to tell you who’s been looking at your profile.  (see fake page above)

This new one, lostcopora claims that it can give you information like this.

 

My profile stats are:
Women Views: 5723
Men Views: 7842
Check yours at – http://apps.facebook.com/lostc opora/
 

We’ve added new features to v3.0

Who’s viewed me?. You Can’t Escape the EYE!

They can’t!

I’ve said it before – now, I will show you what Facebook say.

On this help page they say – Facebook does not provide the ability to track who is viewing your profile or any part of your profile. Applications cannot provide this functionality.
All the application does is post the information above and says that you are using the application several times from your account so more people click it, you have to allow it access to you account for it to do this.  So now you need to revoke access.
See here on how to remove scammers from having access to your Facebook profile.
This new scam on Facebook follows the RIP Charlie sheen malware hoax recently seen on Facebook and Twitter.
This spread around with the title Breaking News or RIP saying that Charlie Sheen had died in his house. And when you clicked on it, it took you to a fake YouTube page. Then if you clicked on this page it would spread the scam on your Facebook page. some user have said that they also got malware due to this scam.
These applications or scams always prey on the latest news or our vanity please don’t click on anything you are not sure about
.
Update on another similar scam this week – See the Top 10 Ten people viewing your profile.
This does the same as above but also takes you to a Firefox 3.6 download page and this is fake – and if you allow this, every time you log into Facebook you get a pop up forcing you to take a survey.
Full report here from Symantec.com
And yet another called – MY PROFILE VIEWS

If you installed this Firefox extension you can remove it from the browser menu:
Click Tools
Add-ons.