How to remove a contact from LinkedIn

LinkedIn-LogoLinkedIn is a professional social networking website with over 200 million members, its a great place to manage your professional identity and to engage with people on a professional level.  So why would you want to how to remove a contact from LinkedIn? People are usually careful about who they connect with on LinkedIn as its not the same as other networks it is usually for work purposes but some people like to be open networkers, and connect with many people, and on LinkedIn these are called LIONs.

What is a LinkedIn LION

It stands for Linked In Open Networker, it basically means that they will accept invites from anyone, even if they don’t know them, where as LinkedIn always used to be the place that you never, ever connected with people you didn’t already know.  However things in social networking have changed somewhat since the old days and many people want to grow their networks and reach out to new contacts.  That being said, there are still people that will hit the I don’t know this person button and that could get you into trouble on many networks.

So, many people love to connect and engage with new people, its how we grow our networks – However sometimes, there may be an occasion say for instance you realised one profile was fake, you were getting too many spam emails from a person or you just decided you didn’t want to be friends on LinkedIn any more – and you might want to know how to remove a contact from LinkedIn  – because we do not do this very often, we forget, and in fact I think it may have been changed in the last year.  So this is how you do it.

Delete a contact from your LinkedIn Account

Its as easy as pie, when you know how.

linkedin remove friend

Click Contacts

Click Connections

linkedin remove connections

on the far right Click Remove Connections

linkedin remove contacts

Find the person you want to remove in the list of Connections (Surname first)

linkedin remove

Click remove connection

Click Yes I do want to remove

linkedin5

And that is done, connection removed.

And that’s how to remove a connection from LinkedIn – I hope that you never have to do that, but if you do find you are getting spam emails or you just don’t like what you see, then this might be the best option.

Short and sweet.

 

 

 

Email hacker Simon Ashton is it a Hoax ?

Hacker Simon Ashton

Simon Ashton must be a famous email hacker by now!

I was shocked and surprised to receive in my email a hacker hoax that has been going around since 1995 – Do you remember those? Every other email in your Hotmail box was a FW of spam!  Lots of spam!  NOW this virus warning email has made its way to my Gmail, and I don’t like that. 

Famous Hacker Simon Ashton

So, what happens if you get an email in your inbox warning you of Hacker Simon Ashton

The email says

VERY URGENT – PLEASE READ – NOT A JOKE

IF A PERSON CALLED SIMON ASHTON ( SIMON25@HOTMAIL.CO.UK ) CONTACTS YOU THROUGH EMAIL DON’T OPEN THE MESSAGE. DELETE IT BECAUSE HE IS A HACKER!!

TELL EVERYONE ON YOUR LIST BECAUSE IF SOMEBODY ON YOUR LIST ADDS HIM THEN YOU WILL GET HIM ON YOUR LIST. HE WILL FIGURE OUT YOUR ID COMPUTER ADDRESS, SO COPY AND PASTE THIS MESSAGE TO EVERYONE EVEN IF YOU DON’T CARE FOR THEM AND FAST BECAUSE IF HE HACKS THEIR EMAIL HE HACKS YOUR MAIL TOO!!!!!…..

Anyone-using Internet mail such as Yahoo, Hotmail, AOL and so on. This information arrived this morning, Direct from both Microsoft and Norton. Please send it to everybody you know who has access to the Internet. You may receive an apparently harmless e-mail titled ‘Mail Server Report’

If you open either file, a message will appear on your screen saying: ‘It is too late now, your life is no longer beautiful.’

Subsequently you will LOSE EVERYTHING IN YOUR PC,
And the person who o sent it to you will gain access to your name, e-mail and password.

This is a new virus which started to circulate on Saturday afternoon. AOL has already confirmed the severity, and the anti virus software’s are not capable of destroying it .

The virus has been created by a hacker who calls himself ‘life owner’..

PLEASE SEND A COPY OF THIS E-MAIL TO ALL YOUR FRIENDS, And ask them to
PASS IT ON IMMEDIATELY!

Hacker Simon Ashton

 

Firstly the warning didn’t arrive this morning, from Microsoft and Norton, this email is 15 years old at least!  And there is no way that Simon Ashton can hack you from adding you to his list.   Its absolute rubbish. If this guy ever even existed he’s probably retired by now! Lol This is just a bogus hacker warning that does nothing but get in the way.

No one knows why this started, some say hackers just did it for a laugh to see how far they could fool people, others say its a great way to gain email addresses, if everyone sends it to everyone in their contacts list. However, its so old now, its probably not being used for anything at all. 

Don’t forward on these things, they are annoying pieces of spam. It doesn’t help anyone, if you want to watch out for warnings – bookmark my website!

If you get this email or similar, tell the person that sent it that is it a hoax and direct them to here so they can read for themselves.

I don’t think hackers are particularly worried about email anymore, they are far more busy with our social networking sites.

The only way to gain access to your accounts are via your password – they get this by either just guessing, sending bogus messages so you enter your password (phishing email) or via keystroke capturing. Which can also come from bogus messages/links.

Update – 2015 – can you believe this is doing the rounds again – asking  you to send the email to another address so they can check it out – don’t – just delete the email and carry on.

What is a Phishing email

The email will usually be from someone or something you recognise like your bank or paypal – frightening  you into thinking that you need to click the link to reset your account or similar – the link will look real but it will be fake and ask you to log into your bank account for example, and now they have your password and any other details.  Like this Yahoo Email Phishing Scam and it happens on Twitter to – Twitter DM Phishing Scam 

 

Remember never forward or click any links that you are not sure about.  Google it first, Google is your friend 🙂

Hope this helps

 

 

 

Facebook to start charging – spam spreading again.

No way!

Since the beginning of this year there have been various rumours about Facebook charging as from August 2011. There have been groups started up and posts shared.

This week we are seeing another type of  hoax viral message circulating Facebook that reads…

This looks like the old chain mails you used to or maybe do still get reporting that Hotmail are going to start charging unless you forward the email, and of course if you forward, you won’t get charged.  Yeah right.  Same thing here, its saying that if you share this message your icon will turn blue and Facebook will be free for you. This just wouldn’t happen.

There has been no reports that Facebook are going to charge, and in the Telegraph today it says that Facebook has denied claims that it has plans to charge. Besides after the launch of Google+ this would be a very silly time to do it.

Don’t fall for it, and don’t copy it and paste it as your status.

Hope this helps

Photo from – http://www.flickr.com/photos/mugsy/358778610/