A Beginners Guide to New Twitter (Part 2) The RT

If you liked my beginners guide to newtwitter  and it helped you, this may help too.

What is an RT ? 

Retweets were actually started by users of twitter as a way of sharing content they have read and enjoyed to their own followers and at the same time giving recognition to the original tweeter.   Sharing content after all is a HUGE part of twitter, to me its what twitter is all about, I’ve read some amazing articles by some brilliant people.

How to RT

You may have seen an RT  in this form on twitter –

RT @username message here 

This is sometimes called a  manual RT – which was how it all started.  If this is done manually  the person that Tweeted the message in the first place @username will see it in their timeline, exactly as you typed it, and so will your followers.

How to do a manual RT –

Copy the content of the tweet  
hit reply
type RT before the @username
paste the copied text after the @username
you may or may not want to put an additional message ie – interesting post. 
hit send.  

RT stands for Retweet – this means that you liked the message so much that you are going to re-tweet it to your followers, ie; share it again. People like to be shared, Retweeted and they also like to know who has done this.

Users tend to follow people that Retweet. I have gained lots of followers and friends by Re-tweeting peoples content, and its also nice to comment on the article if you have time.  Obviously you don’t go around Retweeting anything you read, only if you enjoyed it or think it will be beneficial to your followers.

RT could really mean,  Read This or Listen to this!

The other way is to click the Retweet button underneath the message and it will bring up a box that says Retweet this to your followers.

Most of the time this will not appear in the original tweeters’ timeline depending on what application is being used. So unless they go looking to see who RT’d their tweet they will not know.   Also when it appears in your own followers timeline, it will not show that you shared it but it shows the picture of the original tweeter.  This always throws me as I see the picture and think Who’s that!! then I notice it says very faintly retweeted (two arrows) by and the name.

The good thing about this way of RTing is if you get lots of RT’s they don’t take over timeline with your own message, this was said by a popular tweeter, who got hundreds of RT’s –  imagine that in your timeline.

I might choose now between the two, mostly I use the manual RT but sometimes if they are very popular tweeters I use the manual one.

Who Retweeted me?

If you want to see who has Retweeted your posts you have to go into Retweets, which is beside @mentions and click on your tweets, retweeted.  Here you will see a list of messages of yours that have been retweeted, if you click the small arrow in a cirle – you will get more information, like; who retweeted it.

Hope this helps.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

FOUND – Missing Quote Button on Updated iOS Twitter App.

I’ve seen numerous tweets asking where the Quote button had gone on the updated Twitter for  iPhone App, version 3.3.3 – so I downloaded the update to find out.

Twitter have placed it with the Retweet button!   Which is the one with the two arrows, when you click it you now see this.

Aparently it was already like this on the iPad?

Also on the update, I found that Twitter has finally got rid of that useless, space taking, black strip they called the  QuickBar.  Which used to flash up twitter trends and Ads it was very annoying.   Did they listen to our complaints about it, or did no-one ever click it and they realised that it was an eye sore?

Twitter actually say on the amusing named Post on the Twitter blog “So a bar walks into an app”  that – if we learn it doesn’t improve the user experience or serve our mission, we’ll remove that feature.

As yet I do not see anything else that has changed, please let me know if I missed something. I’m sure you will 🙂

Hope this helps.

 

 

 

Bannatyne twitter shames Suzie Warner for review now missing.

 

Looking for Suzie Warners original review that caused the Bannatyne backlash?

You won’t find it, it was removed, as quoted by entrepreneur Duncan Bannatyne OBE today –


What you will see if you do a search for the review on Swgillingham, Charlton House is a Google entry here, that is still floating around Google, but click on it and it is gone.




I admit this morning I was very disappointed to read that Duncan Bannatyne (who I value reading his tweets on Twitter) had over reacted in my opinion and retweeted Suzie Warners personal details (phone number and email); causing her to receive hate mail and texts.  Why?  Not because I think she was right “lying” on the review about the hotel because she didn’t get her own way but because I believe that using twitter and his influence like that is wrong, it actually makes me sad.  Mostly because of his influence, Duncan Bannatyne has 250,000 followers who will do whatever he says – some of which shared and retweeted this information. 

Not that we can even comment on what she said, as its now been removed, we only have others word for that. We can however see that DB retweeted the phone numbers as that is in his twitter stream, so that we know is a fact.

To make matters worse for Suzie Warner people are saying that she sold her story to the Sun, well according to a comment made by Kevin O’Sullivan on a very good post by @Markshaw here Kevin tracked down Suzie for the story and no fee was discussed.  The Sun article here

So if Duncan Bannatyne had said nothing on his twitter page about this review, not as many people would know about the review it as they do now, because how many of us even new Tripadvisor existed  before?  We all do now, good PR for them.

Edit – Four years on from this – with the same views but now I see that some people forget what free speech actually means. Their are some people that hide behind, this guise of free speech –  If you are using the freedom of free speech – using misinformation just to bully or hurt someone OVER and OVER this can’t be right can it. 

Facebook Free Makeup Scam

Another Facebook post?  Anyone would think I like Facebook. Or actually used it 🙂 
Anyway …… I might be a bit late in posting this but its only just starting appearing in my Facebook feed, so it might help someone. 
Scam on Facebook 
We’ve all seen them before but we are still clicking on them or they wouldn’t keep posting.  Stop it. 
If one of your friends sends you a link to get Free makeup, please don’t click it, and certainly don’t enter your Facebook details or log in with Facebook.
Never click anything like this, you don’t get anything for nothing as the old saying goes. Just as there are no free ipads or free 60″ flat screen TV’s – you didn’t believe that did you? So don’t believe this. 
There are various different links for the  free make-up scams, and they are mostly like this Just visit www.456makeup.info. with varying different numbers.  The trap is that it looks like your friend has received her free makeup but in truth its just posting messages from her/his account.  
Is this a Scam you ask, well it is actually nothing sinister like a virus as such. It takes over your account to send messages that you don’t know about and you don’t even get anything free, apart from a free look at many advertisements. Both of which are just very annoying!
If you really want to find out more about the slightly suspicious message that you have seen from your friend, you should in-box the friend that posted it and ask them if they did post that message and what was  it about.  Then you will know if it is for real or not.


If it is too late and you did click the link then these instructions from Facebook will remove it

If your account has been taken over and used to send spam, you should follow these steps immediately:

  • Reset your Facebook password. You can do this by clicking the “Forgot your password?” link on the login page or by going to the Account Settings page once logged in.
  • If you can’t reset your password because the email address you use to log in has changed, or if your account has been disabled, visit our help page.
  • Make sure you have up-to-date security software on your computer, run a scan, and remove any malicious files. If you don’t do this, and your computer is infected, your account may be taken over again. If you don’t yet have protection for your computer, you can download a complimentary six-month subscription of McAfee security software. Learn more on the Software tab.
Hope this helps. 


Happy Facebooking 🙂