Twitter DM Phishing Scams – Have I been hacked

We see phishing scams all of the time on social networks – there have been phishing scams on TwitterHotmailFacebook, and many more. The object of the hackers game is to fool you into giving them your personal information, such as username, password, and even worse credit card details. These scams might come via Email as we have seen on Yahoo or on instant messages, private messages on various networks, its not hard for them to get control of your account.

Twitter DM Phishing Scams – Have I been hacked

What are these Phishing Scams on Twitter

Direct Messages on Twitter with the subject line as

  • lol u didn’t see them tapping u
  • your in this
  • Hey this person is writing cruel things about you
  • wow your busted in this video
  • fb is offering freee apple ipadds 2
  • Hey this user is writing cruel things about you
  • OMG your in this
  • and more…….

The first thing we notice is, that most of the time, the grammar or the spelling is incorrect   –  Some lately are coming through with a link that looks like it comes from Facebook – so this is fooling even more people than before – I am seeing these posts almost every day.

What happens when you click on a scam link

Normally what happens is that you  appear to be logged out of Twitter and made to log in again – and HEY Presto – the scammers have your details and password – and start sending out DM’s – they are quite clever only doing one every couple of days so it takes a while for you to notice or for someone to complain.

Twitter DM Phishing Scams – Have I been hacked

Have I been hacked

You have only been hacked as you call it,  because you clicked a link like this.

If you have clicked on a link like this, then you need to change your password and just check in your auth to make sure that you haven’t authorised something that shouldn’t be authorised.

How to stop getting Phished by a hacker

Don’t click links that are dmed to you unless you have spoken to the person and they have said they are going to send you a link – there is no reason for anyone to DM links, twitter is about keeping it out in the open.   Especially annoying is those auto DM’s but that’s another story. I just delete all DM’s that I wasn’t expecting to receive, this will hopefully protect me from these scams, but they are getting clever with the Facebook links – whats next!?

Hope this helps

 

LinkedIn Update, Member Passwords were Hacked – How to change Password

LinkedIn have now confirmed that some of the passwords were hacked today.

Well, what they actually say is “We can confirm that some of the passwords that were compromised correspond to LinkedIn accounts.”

  1. Members that have accounts associated with the compromised passwords will notice that their LinkedIn account password is no longer valid.
  2. These members will also receive an email from LinkedIn with instructions on how to reset their passwords. There will not be any links in these emails. For security reasons, you should never change your password on any website by following a link in an email.
  3. These affected members will receive a second email from our Customer Support team providing a bit more context on this situation and why they are being asked to change their passwords.

So that is a good thing to remember – never change your password from a link in an email, and don’t on this occasion.

To confirm they say if you have been compromised you won’t be able to log in and LinkedIn are going to send you details, I would assume you have to click forgot password to reset.

But if you are still nervous about it all, you can simply change your password.

How to change your Linkedin Password

First go over to where your name is and click on it …… as above – then click SETTINGS

Then click Change Password.

Finish by putting your Old Password here and then your new Password Twice.

Also remember…….. never use the same passwords for other accounts.

Hope this helps

 

Enhanced by Zemanta

Facebook scam video – OMG I just hate RIHANNA after watching this video

Rihanna OMG

OMG I just hate Rihanna after watching this video, has found its way to my friends facebook walls.

Scammers are using celebrities we like to get to us, this time its to watch Rihanna on youtube.   Scams are sometimes connected to celebrities because hackers know people just can’t wait to click that link without thinking, and by then its too late.

This particular scam has been around for ages now, its changed shape or form but essentially its always the same – this is what it looks like now…

As you see it tells you that you will LOST your all respect for RIHANNA after watching this, a tell-tail sign that its fake, its very bad English.

As many scams or hoaxes like this is actually a survey scam –  when you click the link it will take you to a survey – and you know the rest…. if you don’t, then read these! 🙂

 

These and many more are pretty much the same if not identical as the survey scam above, you don’t see a video at all but you are taken to a survey which if you complete the scammer gets paid for violating your page and  your friends and you get nothing.

Please try not to be fooled by these scams, I know its difficult if its something popular like this but ask yourself if the first place you would have heard about this would have been Facebook and not the news.

As precaution check your allowed applications.

Go to your Privacy Settings,  Apps and Websites – Edit Settings – Apps you use – and check which apps that you have allowed.

Also change your password.

Hope this helps

Picture Source – creative commons

Twitter News – Activity Arrives and A Hack Attack

Twitter news…

You may have heard that Twitter has launched another change on Twitter.com; I’ll keep this brief as you will see for yourself soon enough.

Activity 

This shows favorites, follows, retweets, and more by people that you follow – this is next to @mentions, which now has your @name and retweets has gone  – this is being rolled out slowly as not everyone has it yet.

I’m not sure about the usefulness of this yet, it makes it harder to see your retweets – but at least it is on another page and you have to click to see it.   One thing maybe to remember is that everything you do now, show’s up in picture form for everyone to see, well maybe not EVERYTHING 🙂

Some people are loving these new changes in Twitter, but some say its ruining what we once  had, simplicity – I do have to agree.  I wonder what your view is, do you like these changes from the #oldtwitter to the new?

In other news……

New Phishing Attack

There is another new Phising attack coming to your DM folder  it says

 Someone is posting a pic of you all over twitter

This is one of those that is intending to get your account details and then repost it to everyone in your address book as as DM – if you click on it and have Google Chrome, which you should have by now.  Very similar to the  Is this your in this picture – photo scam.

Chrome says this ….  I’m glad it worked as I wanted to show you this page.  Although you cannot see the link on the DM it says that itwitter.com has been reported as a phishing site.

We should be used to these by now, and should avoid clicking like the plague, I almost reported this person for spam as it looked that way but he obviously just got caught.

 All I can say is don’t click it – it just keeps it going.  And change your password and tell people not to click, if you have

Hope this helps

When is Facebook not Facebook – when its FaceBook

 

Just when you thought it was safe to go back to reading my blog, there is another Facebook warning.

Doing the rounds at the moment is an email that appears to come from Facebook that looks like this…

 

Dear user of FaceBook.

Your password is not safe!
To secure your account the password has been changed automatically.
Attached document contains a new password to your account and detailed information about new security measures.

Thank you for attention,
Your Facebook

If Facebook were to contact you they would use your user name, they would write their name correctly and they would not send you an attachment.

More worrying however, is this one that I received today – it looks very real indeed.  Note the link at the top; lots of numbers, that looks fake – but all of the links look real. “Sorry that you’ve been having trouble logging into your Facebook account”  I wasn’t have trouble logging in. So I just tried again via Facebook.com and it logged in right away, so you can safely assume that this is another scam to get our Facebook details.

If you get an email like this just try logging in to Facebook and I’m sure it will work.  Delete the email.

What Facebook say about fake emails

For more detailed information about the first email scam see the Sophos site.

I’m thinking they should change the name to Facescam…

Hope this helps 🙂