Ubertwitter returns with new baby – Ubersocial






With so much publicity over the last few days Ubermedia must be rubbing their hands together. I’m sure they had a bit of work to do but I’m also certain have now gained many new users, with having a trending topic for 4 days. This suspension hasn’t done them any harm as far as I can see. Last night people were tweeting like mad waiting for for a link after Ubersocial announced


11pm GMT Sunday – @UBERSOC – Great news! Twitter has approved our changes, and we expect to provide a new version in about an hour.


But it was almost 3 hours before they posted a link by which time users were in a frenzy – they were  ecstatic to have it back. 



There reasons for the suspension are on my blog: Why can’t I log into Ubertwitter and Twidroyd

You can now download the new and improved – Ubersocial for Blackberry, iphone and the Desktop which is in beta here at http://ubersocial.com/ 


I’m certainly going to try out the Desktop version now after so many users have professed their love   for (recommended) Ubertwitter, maybe it will be my replacement for #newtwitter which I just don’t like.  Waiting for an invite or acceptance now πŸ˜‰ 






Pictures from  http://ubersocial.com/

Facebook Free Makeup Scam

Another Facebook post?  Anyone would think I like Facebook. Or actually used it πŸ™‚ 
Anyway …… I might be a bit late in posting this but its only just starting appearing in my Facebook feed, so it might help someone. 
Scam on Facebook 
We’ve all seen them before but we are still clicking on them or they wouldn’t keep posting.  Stop it. 
If one of your friends sends you a link to get Free makeup, please don’t click it, and certainly don’t enter your Facebook details or log in with Facebook.
Never click anything like this, you don’t get anything for nothing as the old saying goes. Just as there are no free ipads or free 60″ flat screen TV’s – you didn’t believe that did you? So don’t believe this. 
There are various different links for the  free make-up scams, and they are mostly like this Just visit www.456makeup.info. with varying different numbers.  The trap is that it looks like your friend has received her free makeup but in truth its just posting messages from her/his account.  
Is this a Scam you ask, well it is actually nothing sinister like a virus as such. It takes over your account to send messages that you don’t know about and you don’t even get anything free, apart from a free look at many advertisements. Both of which are just very annoying!
If you really want to find out more about the slightly suspicious message that you have seen from your friend, you should in-box the friend that posted it and ask them if they did post that message and what was  it about.  Then you will know if it is for real or not.


If it is too late and you did click the link then these instructions from Facebook will remove it

If your account has been taken over and used to send spam, you should follow these steps immediately:

  • Reset your Facebook password. You can do this by clicking the “Forgot your password?” link on the login page or by going to the Account Settings page once logged in.
  • If you can’t reset your password because the email address you use to log in has changed, or if your account has been disabled, visit our help page.
  • Make sure you have up-to-date security software on your computer, run a scan, and remove any malicious files. If you don’t do this, and your computer is infected, your account may be taken over again. If you don’t yet have protection for your computer, you can download a complimentary six-month subscription of McAfee security software. Learn more on the Software tab.
Hope this helps. 


Happy Facebooking πŸ™‚ 

How to turn off Twitter 3.2 Push Notifications – iPhone

As you may of heard Twitter Inc, has released an update to its iOS App for iPhone, iPad, and iTouch which includes push notifications. Read more from @ammojoe on CNet here  



I’d never tried push notifications before on my iPhone, it just didn’t appeal to me. When I’m on twitter I’m “on twitter”, which to be fair, is pretty often, so I don’t miss much. However lately I have wondered if someone has replied, or wanted me for something, etc., so I decided that push notifications would help this constantly having to “check twitter”. (Not that I am addicted or anything!) : )


If you are like me, and have suddenly realised that this is an immensely annoying gimmick, then you are going to want to stop it like I have, after one day. 


When you first open the Twitter application 3.2 it just asks if you want to add push notifications, but if you added push and now want to disable it you simply have to go into settings.


This is how….


1 – Click the 3 Dots on the far right.





2 – Scroll down to the bottom and click Accounts and Settings





3 – Next click Settings at the bottom





4 – Click Notifications. 









5 – Slide Messages, Mentions and Replies Off. 







There you have it, peace again πŸ™‚ 


I think this may have its use when I am urgently waiting for a reply to a message in which case, I will just turn it back on again, it can be used as and when. 


Or you should be able to go to iPhone settings – Notifications – and disable sounds and alerts there, but this is cleaner πŸ™‚ 

Hope you found this useful.

Thanks. 

(Screen shots by Michelle Harris)