How to remove a contact from LinkedIn

LinkedIn-LogoLinkedIn is a professional social networking website with over 200 million members, its a great place to manage your professional identity and to engage with people on a professional level.  So why would you want to how to remove a contact from LinkedIn? People are usually careful about who they connect with on LinkedIn as its not the same as other networks it is usually for work purposes but some people like to be open networkers, and connect with many people, and on LinkedIn these are called LIONs.

What is a LinkedIn LION

It stands for Linked In Open Networker, it basically means that they will accept invites from anyone, even if they don’t know them, where as LinkedIn always used to be the place that you never, ever connected with people you didn’t already know.  However things in social networking have changed somewhat since the old days and many people want to grow their networks and reach out to new contacts.  That being said, there are still people that will hit the I don’t know this person button and that could get you into trouble on many networks.

So, many people love to connect and engage with new people, its how we grow our networks – However sometimes, there may be an occasion say for instance you realised one profile was fake, you were getting too many spam emails from a person or you just decided you didn’t want to be friends on LinkedIn any more – and you might want to know how to remove a contact from LinkedIn  – because we do not do this very often, we forget, and in fact I think it may have been changed in the last year.  So this is how you do it.

Delete a contact from your LinkedIn Account

Its as easy as pie, when you know how.

linkedin remove friend

Click Contacts

Click Connections

linkedin remove connections

on the far right Click Remove Connections

linkedin remove contacts

Find the person you want to remove in the list of Connections (Surname first)

linkedin remove

Click remove connection

Click Yes I do want to remove

linkedin5

And that is done, connection removed.

And that’s how to remove a connection from LinkedIn – I hope that you never have to do that, but if you do find you are getting spam emails or you just don’t like what you see, then this might be the best option.

Short and sweet.

 

 

 

How to delete a blogspot or blogger blog.

Blogger is google’s free tool for bloggers to create their own blog website. It is very simple to set up and you can have many blogs using the same account. Blogger will host this blog on blogspot.com for free. (Which is the difference between Blogger and Blogspot by the way) Its very easy to use, mostly with guides and instructions. Adding pictures and videos is a breeze especially if you use Picasa/ Google Video or You Tube. All free… great huh?

so.. Why would you want to delete your blog on blogger or blogspot?

You haven’t visited it for a year, even though you promised yourself you would write every week, no one is reading your blog or maybe Google just doesn’t do it for you anymore and you want to start a fresh with another platform such as WordPress. For whatever reason, you want it gone, forever.

Be aware, this isn’t to show you how to export your blogspot blog or to keep any part of it, this is to permanently get rid of it.

How to delete your blogspot or blogger blog 

Step by step instructions.

1 – Log into Blogger or Blogspot

2 – Click the Dashboard

3 – Click Settings

4 – Click Delete blog

Follow the instructions to delete the blog, and there, its gone as easy as that.

Many people were asking me how to do this, so here it is, with pictures..

Hope this helps

Delete photos on (NEW DESIGN) YFrog – Part two

I wrote a post not so long ago about how to delete your photos from YFrog; due to the fact it took me a little while to find out. I’m pleased to say, that this post has helped out many people.

Recently I received this comment.

Whocares
Looks like they’ve rebuilt the interface because i couldnt find any dropdown menu or any delete buttons.

How to remove pictures on Yfrog updated

So I hopped on over to Yfrog.  It seems things have indeed changed, in fact Yfrog recently had a complete overhaul on design with virtually a new product: you can tweet directly from their site, photos are more organised and it looks much more professional now.  This new design is apparently in beta and is being pushed out to people slowly so you may not have seen it yet.  It does look easier to use now, so hopefully people won’t have so much difficulty but just in case, this is how you remove photos now.

  1. Click Profile
  2. Click Photos (or videos)
  3. Do not click the picture – because when you hover over the photo that you wish to delete  you will see an X – click  – here to remove.

UPDATE  –  Another change to YFrog design, just a small one. 

Proceed to step 3. 

3. Still do not click the picture – but hover over it and you will see the trashcan, click that to delete. 

(thanks to an anonymous poster for letting me know) 

If you wish to remove the complete yfrog account go to settings which is on the drop down arrow next to profile and click delete account.

Looks like they have got rid of that ugly frog too !

 

 

Hope this  helps

 

 

How to delete a photo from Yfrog

I recently had a problem where I needed to remove an image for a friend from Yfrog, which is used to post photographs and videos to Twitter.
It wasn’t immediately apparent how to remove the pictures, so it took longer than it should and yet its quite simple, just different to what we are used to.
Edit: I have now done another post due to the change in Y Frog’s design – So here is how to delete a photo from YFrog Part 2 – http://wp.me/p1tjTK-2I
Here’s how…
  • Log in to Yfrog using the user-name that contains the file.
  • Go to the drop down menu on your name – Click My images and videos.
  • Hover over the picture, it changes colour, do not click.
  • Remove will appear under the image. – Click remove.
Apparently deletion might not be immediate, however when I clicked remove the offending photo vanished in a flash.

If someone else put your picture on their account and you want it removed then you must report it and they will remove it here.

Hope this helps.

Bulk Delete DM’s

People are always asking me or asking on Twitter of a quick way to bulk delete DMs, as its rather tedious to delete them one by one.  I’m always giving out the link, so I this maybe more helpful.
What you need is DM Whacker.  
From @dacort
DM Whacker is a brilliant little bookmarklet that deletes all of your direct messages from your profile.
It definitely works in Firefox, Google Chrome and Safari, not sure what others. 
There are various options 
  • All DM’s
  • All sent
  • All received
  • DM’s from a certain user

Or in advances features
DM’s containing a certain text.
Note – It will also delete all the DM’s in your recipients inbox (so they will know you have deleted them) 
Here are the instuctions from the site  http://dcortesi.com/tools/dm-deleter/  
Drag the link below to your bookmarks bar (or right click and save in bookmarks) and then open your Direct Messages page in Twitter. Click the bookmarklet you created and select whether you want to delete all direct messages, or just direct messages from a specific user (No @ in front of their name).
Please note that when you delete a message from your Sent mailbox, it will delete it from the recipient’s Inbox. The same applies for messages you have received.
Bookmarklet: DM Whacker
There is also a link to donate on the website if you like this, as it is free tool.
Any questions please ask.