It was announced today from WhatsApp, that Whatsapp will be sharing your personal information with Facebook including your phone number to allow businesses to communicate with users. There are lots of headlines floating around saying that we are going to get ads on Whatsapp. This does not appear to be the case.
We still do not allow third-party banner ads on WhatsApp.
In the future, we will explore ways for you and businesses to communicate with each other using WhatsApp, such as through order, transaction, and appointment information, delivery and shipping notifications, product and service updates, and marketing. For example, you may receive flight status information for upcoming travel, a receipt for something you purchased, or a notification when a delivery will be made. Messages you may receive containing marketing could include an offer for something that might interest you.
We do not want you to have a spammy experience; as with all of your messages, you can manage these communications, and we will honor the choices you make.
They are going to be sharing our information and data with Facebook so that we will get more accurate ads on Facebook. But again you can opts out of this before signing the agreement or within 30 days after.
They confirm in today’s Whatsapp blog that they now use end to end encryption and that messages are private. And that they won’t ever share your Whatsapp number with others, such as advertisers. Never ever….. they say.
Nothing you share on WhatsApp, including your messages, photos, and account information, will be shared onto Facebook or any of the Facebook family of apps for others to see. This means, for example, although some information will be shared with Facebook (such as your phone number), that information will not be seen by other people on Facebook.
How to opt out of sharing my Whatsapp data with Facebook
If Facebook doesn’t actually already have all of your info, you might be concerned and want to opt out. Here is how you do that.
Click read – and then uncheck share my account information at the bottom that says share my WhatsApp account information with Facebook
information and image from https://www.whatsapp.com/faq/general/26000016
Or if you have already signed it, you can go to Settings > Account > Share my account info in the app. and uncheck the box there, you only have 30 days in which to do this.
There, no panic : )