So, you may have heard by now that last week Snapchat brought us all a new update and people are going crazy about it. Snap Map! I’m going to tell you How to Turn off Snap Map or set Ghost Mode on Snapchat.
However, before you freak out – Snap Map location finder isn’t on until you turn it on. People seem to think that they need to rush to turn it off because their locations are being shown to everyone.
You first have to allow to share your location by turning on the location settings and ALLOWING your location to be found. To just turn off Snap Maps on your phone and bypass all the drivel scroll to the end.
Before all that you have to find it – if you go to your camera screen like you are going to send Snap – pinch on the screen (like you are zooming out from a photo) and you will see this.
This is what Snapchat support say.
If you and a friend follow one another, you can share your locations with each other on the Snap Map! Only the friends you choose to share your location with will be able to see where you’re at 🗺️
Your location on the Snap Map is only updated when you’re using Snapchat — so you don’t have to worry about your location being updated in the background or anything 📵 Your location on the Map will expire after several hours, or as soon as you go into Ghost Mode.
Location Sharing Options
When you open the Snap Map for the first time, you’ll get a prompt to choose who to share your location with. Whatever you choose, you’ll be able to update this setting later at any time!
Snapchat say the purpose of this new feature is so that you can view Snaps of sporting events, celebrations, breaking news, and more from all across the world.
If you and a friend follow one another, you can share your locations with each other so you can see where they are. And only the people you choose can see your location. However be warned too that Snaps you submit to Our Story can still show up on the Map.
How to Turn off Snap Map or set Ghost Mode on Snapchat
For me to tell you how to turn off Snap Map or set Ghost Mode on Snapchat – you will have first had to have turned on the map and allowed your location to be found, if you haven’t, you won’t even see these settings.
If you have turned it on you can change these settings by clicking the cog in the top right-hand corner of the map and you can change the setting as follows
- Only Me (Ghost Mode): Your location won’t be visible to anyone else on the Map. When you’re in Ghost Mode, your Bitmoji will hold up a blue sign with a spooky specter 👻
- My Friends: Your location will be visible to all of your friends on the Map as long as you are mutual friends. This includes any new friends you make too! If you want to choose this option later, go to ‘Select Friends…,’ scroll down to ‘All Friends,’ and tap ‘✓ Select All.’
- Select Friends…: Choose specific friends to share your location with. Friends you select won’t be notified that you chose them, but they’ll be able to see your location as long as you are mutual friends!
What happens with this new feature is that you can see where exactly everyone is, to the door number – and also see what they are doing, driving, sitting, eating sleeping, not sure how that works but that’s what I’m told.
Ghost mode to me is even more creepy than the maps itself because it means that you can see where everyone else is but they can’t see where you are. So this is something that you, and especially our kids should be aware of.
How to turn off Snap Map on your iPhone
To completely turn off off Location finder on Snap Map – or make sure that it’s not turned on – go to phone settings – scroll down until you find Snapchat, and make sure that location settings are set to never. and that’s sorted.
Hopefully, now you know How to Turn off Snap Map or set Ghost Mode on Snapchat – if you are having any problems with this, please do let me know in the comments or contact me