Since Graph Search – Facebook’s new search engine was launched its opened up new concerns over privacy. People are worried what is going to show up in graph search about them.
This has given a new life to an old hoax where people are actually unfriending friends that do not comply to the strict instructions.
New Facebook hoax about Facebook Graph
Just so everyone on my friends list knows that I completed this and I am done! Facebook has changed their privacy settings once more!! Due to the new “graph app” anyone on facebook (including other countries) can see your pictures, likes & comments. The next 2 weeks I will be posting this, and please once you have done it please post DONE!!! Those of you who do not keep my information from going out to the public, I will have to DELETE YOU! I want to stay PRIVATELY connected with you. I post shots of family that I don’t want strangers to have access to! This happens when friends click “like” or “comment”….automatically, their friends would see our posts, too. Unfortunately, we cannot change this setting by ourselves because Faceboook configured it that way. PLEASE place your mouse over my name above (DO NOT CLICK), a window will appear, now move the mouse on “FRIENDS” (also without clicking), then down to “settings”, click here and a list will appear. REMOVE the CHECK on “LIFE EVENTS” and “COMMENTS & LIKES”. By doing this, my activity among my friends and family will no longer become public. Now, copy & paste this on your wall. Once I see this posted on your page, I will do the same. Thank you
This hoax encourages everyone to paste this on their wall so that the person knows that you have done it – in reality all this does is restrict what you see in your feed of this person. Its an old hoax changed a little to include Facebook Graph – we often see hoaxes, resurrected this way and this is a good way to spot them.
An older Facebook hoax
To all my FB friends, may I request you to please do something for me: I want to stay PRIVATELY connected with you. However, with the recent changes in FB, the public can now see activities in any wall. This happens when our friends hit “like” or “comment”, automatically, their friends would see our posts too. Unfortunately, we cannot change this setting by ourselves because Facebook has configured it this way. So I need your help. Only you can do this for me. PLEASE place your mouse over my name above (do not click), a window will appear, now move the mouse on “FRIENDS” (also without clicking), then down to “Settings”, click here and a list will appear. REMOVE the CHECK on “COMMENTS & LIKE” by clicking on it. By doing this, my activity amongst my friends and my family will no longer become public. Many thanks! Paste this on your wall so your contacts would follow suit too, that is, if you care about your privacy
Anything like this, with lots of text, threatening or promising something, if you don’t share with all of your friends, should always set alarm bells ringing, hoax alarm bells.
That said, I’m actually looking forward to receiving Graph Search I think it will be really interesting, the only thing that I’m not too keen about appearing on Graph Search are photos that I have been tagged in that I didn’t really like, everything else I’ve posted for the public to see. However, you can easily untag yourself from photos now.
How to stop your stuff appearing on Facebook Graph
If you are concerned about anything of yours showing up in Facebook Graph you can take your own steps.
Go to your activity log – this is located on your Profile page under your cover photo on the right.
On the left of the activity log you will see a list of included content
- Your Post
- Posts you are tagged in
- Posts by others
- Posts you’ve hidden
- And more.
Here you can….
- Review and remove any pictures or images you don’t want shared on Facebook graph search
- Remove any tag from photos you don’t want seen
- Remove location tags
- Change your about you, not to show your city etc.
Watch this video by Facebook on Graph privacy to help.
More ways to check your Facebook privacy ready for Graph Search.
If you click the padlock next to the cog in the top right of the page you have more options to protect your Facebook Privacy.
Here you can review
Who can see your stuff and Who can look you up.
Also check out this page for further Facebook privacy setting and shortcuts.
I hope this helps you understand a bit more about Facebook Graph Search security and the hoax.
Hope this helps