Don't forget to share

friends reunited logo

Friends reunited was launched in the year 2000 in the UK and was soon to be the UK’s largest social network.  It allowed you to reunite with old school friends / work friends and later,  even people that lived in your childhood road.

You could contact people via email on the site – but it tried to not allow you to give your msn or your email address to contact directly – there were ways around this but not everyone understood what michelle at msn dot com meant back in those days.

Suddenly some add updates were made, there were meewee characters which you could use as our avatar, trying to make it more fun? AND the not so fun things, they had started to charge for emails and then for membership.  This is why users left, not the competition Facebook or Bebo – we had already decided to jump ship before we realised that Facebook and Bebo were going to be next.

So now we’ve heard that Friends-reunited has been reunited and relaunched as a memorabilia site.

When I logged on I was surprised to see how plain the design was still, even after all these years – and that I had 5 new messages!!

Top right by your name – which you can click to see your memories 

  • Messages – Including all the old ones
  • Contacts – People that you had added as contacts

  • Games – ….. this is new

Down the left hand side you have these options …..

Make a box

Memory boxes are collections containing photos, videos, discussions and polls all covering a single theme, e.g “Childhood Sweets Of The 70s”. You can choose to share your box with others, or keep it private for your own memories.

To make a memory box  –  name it – categorise it – sub categorise it – deside if its private, shared or public – then save it.

Find Memories 

Finding something you remember is easy. You can search for anything (like events, moments, people and places) using the search box located at the top of each page. Browse through the collections of memories which are in memory boxes that have already been created.

My Keepsafe

Your keepsafe is your own virtual memory shoebox, filled with all your favourite memories. Everything you’ve added to Friends Reunited is kept here, everything from before is there!  You can add the photos to yours or other boxes or just leave them “out of the box”

Underneath the Keepsafe there are three titles

  • Private Memories – which is empty because I haven’t created any.
  • Shared Memories – also empty because no-one has shared any yet.
  • Public Memories – This will be all the pictures from the old friends reunited I would assume. Listed in groups that are also in your memories at the top.

So its all about photos …..pinterest meets flikr meets an antique shop!

I’m not sure…… it might work – people love photos its clear – and they love sharing old photos on facebook. Having somewhere to keep them safe and or to show people sounds a good idea.  Its not an easy to use design or a pretty one, this could be what lets it down. That and if after they have hooked us in they want to start charging. However it is still in Beta so don’t be so hard on the new friends reunited.

It will be interesting to see if it takes off….