Here we go again ..
There is some confusion on Facebook about your contact numbers from your phone showing on your Facebook profile – this has popped up again since the arrival of the new application from Facebook called “Facebook Messenger” where you can IM people from Facebook. (Maybe because you have to Sync your contacts to use it?)
There is a viral message appearing in our feeds that says …
All the phone numbers in your phone are now published on Facebook.
This ability (contacts) has been there since the “Facebook Phonebook” feature at least a year ago, maybe more. We also had a similar viral message going around then which warned that it was a security threat.
This can only happen apparently if you have in fact sync’d your mobile application with Facebook. Even though I have even searched through lots of my friends to see if I can see any of their friends phone numbers – There is no option to view other peoples contacts.
However! … I can see my own contacts numbers, which include some of my Facebook friends… strange as I have never with my knowledge done a sync, it even comes up with a huge warning when you click the sync saying are you sure that all of your friends want you to sync their numbers with Facebook, so I would have noticed. I tried to see if I could see these numbers from another account that I have, and I could not.
So the worrying thing isn’t that I am sharing my friends numbers but that I can see my Facebook friends numbers, do they realise that they are sharing these with me? I am assuming that they can’t see mine, as in the beginning I had this option stopped but now I will have to check for certain.
According to Facebook these are the instructions to …
Remove phone contacts from Facebook.
1. Top right of screen – Click Edit Friends
You will see here your mobile contacts, either from your phone or your friends numbers, that have apparently allowed their number to be shown.
3. On the right – Click visit this page.
This takes sometime, so just leave it to work its magic.
When you have done this removal it still appears to show the people that have evidently voluntarily shared their own number, I was going to show you how to check this but see what happens next….
This is weird, you used to be able to go in to Account – Privacy preferences – Customise settings – Contact information to set privacy for your mobile number but that option, (on mine anyway) has disappeared, gone, vanished!
Facebook privacy is a worry …… we need to keep on checking these things and making sure that we have our settings customised and keep checking back in case facebook change the game again!
On another note, or maybe the same, Facebook appears to have been having some issues over the last few hours, some people are complaining that they cannot post or cannot like, various problems are cropping up, when I tried to “like” something I had a message about problem with database. Others have said it just will not them them post at all.
Hope this helps – if you can help too then please do.