There another Facebook video scam doing the rounds. This Facebook Scam uses Google Chrome to attack your account and send spam to your friends.

How do I know this, because I got caught (I am ashamed to say) yes, after warning you all of this very same thing, over and over. I clicked the link not thinking it could be unsafe, just not thinking on a Sunday morning.  This just shows you how easy it is to get caught out, because I think everything is a scam !

Facebook video scam

I was having a conversation with a friend over a delicate health matter, and she sent me a video, it just appeared like the above. I just thought she had got fed up with typing.  So I clicked the link, it wanted me to add an extension to watch it.  Crazy, me didn’t think much of it, because she uses a lot of different platforms that I might not know. However, after I added the extension it didn’t work, I thought OH DEAR!  I looked at it more closely saw that the URL was very strange. Its actually changed again already it now says – budaner.pw  – yes I clicked it to check but I made sure I didn’t let it in this time. It adds an extension called – iHU or another one with three letters.

Shortly after – it sent a video link to about 15 – 20 of my friends. Ah! I quickly wrote to all of them to tell them it was a Facebook video scam and not to click it.

As Steven Healey explains here – in this Facebook live video –  we’ve seen a few friends with this today, and some getting very annoyed. Yes, its a silly mistake to make but mistakes do happen, and it wasn’t intentional of your friend. It basically hacks your account so the extension sends it automatically to people in your own friends list.

Facebook video scam

 

 

This is how they are catching us out, sending it via a Facebook messenger message from a friend you trust.  With your name on.

How to remove the Facebook video scam from Google Chrome

Don’t click this link in the video

Delete it

If you do click it – and install the extension (stupidly like me).

Quickly go to Google Chrome.

  1. Click the 3 dots.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Click Extensions on the left.

Scroll down until you see the offending extension – this is the one I had but there are others.

extention

If you are not sure which one it is immediately – just stop them all right away so that you can go through them.

When you have turned it off.

Go back to Facebook – and change your password.

  1. Click in the top right corner of any Facebook page and select Settings.
  2. Click Password.
  3. Type your current and new passwords.
  4. Click Save Changes.

Quickly tell everyone that you have sent a message to not to click it.

Post on your Facebook page not to click the link thats its a Facebook video scam.

I did three malware scans and could not find anything, so it seems its just related to the extension – once that’s gone, nothing else happened.

As you can see its nothing really to get stressed about – delete the extension and change your password, and nothing can happen.

Hope this helps.